Museum of Azerbaijan Literature named after Nizami Ganjavi
The Museum of Azerbaijan Literature named after Nizami Ganjavi was founded in Baku in 1939. It is located in the center of the Azerbaijani capital, near the fountain square and the entrance to Icheri Sheher. To date, this museum is one of the largest and richest treasuries of Azerbaijani spiritual culture.
The Museum of Azerbaijani Literature named after Nizami Ganjavi (Azerbaijan Nizami Gəncəvi adına Azərbaycan ədəbiyyatı muzeyi) was founded in Baku in 1939. It is located in the center of the capital of Azerbaijan, near the Fountain Square and the entrance to Icheri Sheher. To date, this museum is one of the largest and richest treasuries of Azerbaijani spiritual culture.
The building in which the museum is located was built in the 1860s. like a two-story caravanserai. The architect was Kasym-bek Hajibababekov . In 1915, the building was transferred to the hotel "Metropol" and the second floor was completed. Then, in 1918-1920, employees of the Cabinet of Ministers of the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic lived and worked here, and in the 1920s and 1930s the Council of Trade Unions of Azerbaijan was located here.
At the end of the 1930s, a politically motivated campaign was held in the USSR to give the classics of Persian poetry  Nizami Ganjavi the status of a national Azerbaijani poet, timed to celebrate the 800th anniversary of the poet. By order of the Council of People's Commissars of the Azerbaijani SSR from November 1, 1939, under No. 4972, in connection with the 800th anniversary of the birth of "the great Azerbaijani poet" Nizami Ganjavi, this building was the memorial museum named after Nizami. Under the project of architects Sadig Dadashev and Mikail Useynov, major repairs were carried out, sculptures were installed on the facade and two more floors were completed. Later, the memorial museum was transformed into the Museum of Azerbaijani Literature.  The interior of the museum was decorated by Latif Kerimov.
During the Second World War, when the 800th anniversary of the "Azerbaijani writer" Nizami Ganjavi was celebrated in besieged Leningrad, the work on placing the expositions in the museum was continued. Despite the fact that the beginning of the museum was laid in 1939, the museum opened the doors for visitors only after the victory in the Great Patriotic War - May 14, 1945. Twice, in 1959 and 1967 the museum was thoroughly restored, expanded and more refined. In 2001-2003 the museum again underwent a number of new developments.
In the summer of 2005, after a visit to the museum of the President of the Republic of Azerbaijan, Ilham Aliyev, on December 30, 2004, new projects were prepared, on the basis of which the capital restoration and repair and restoration works were started. The Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Azerbaijan has allocated 13 million manat for these purposes. The exposition area was increased to 2500 square meters, and the number of halls was brought to 30 main and 10 auxiliary. If before the restoration of 2005 the museum exhibited about 1000 of more than 120 thousand exhibits of the museum, then after restoration, their number reached 25 thousand.